New Projects and Progress (and Caught Red-handed)

I pretty much spent this week indoors and avoiding “the outside.” After Sean’s health scare last week (he’s completely back to normal, by the way) and all the terrible news online this week, “inside” felt much more comfortable–and safer. Living is exhausting, sometimes. I find this is especially true in summer, where there seems to be zero quiet time.  I needed a break, so I took one this week. My house is an absolute wreck. Marcy looks like she just crawled out of a the forest after being raised by a pack of wolves–no, not wolves, garbage-loving labradoodles. Aaron has been sleeping late and playing video games every day, and Sean has been stretching the limits of our internet data plan, watching hours of the same cartoons over and over and over again. Maggie is the only one who has really done anything all week, and that’s because she’s been hitching a ride with the neighbors to VBS every morning.  I should feel bad, but I don’t. I was tired, and I know things will get back to normal soon–maybe even today. Sometimes we need a breather.

So, one thing I HAVE been doing this week is working on my table runner (it’s almost done!!!) and I started a new crochet project because, why the heck not?

So, here’s a basic granny square blanket. I’m trying to get rid of some (most) of my stash. It’s made up of a lot of scratchy, cheap yarn, but, that’s okay. It’s pretty, and that’s all that matters, right? (And, I plan on doing anything I can to soften it up once I’m done with it. There are plenty of tricks on Pinterest.)

DSCN2671DSCN2673

DSCN2677
Marcy tried to sneak into this one, but I was, like, “child, you are way too filthy for my photo.”

As for Little Morsels, I am almost done! The back still looks like a crazy mess, but the binding is going on nicely. I’m hoping it is done today or tomorrow.

DSCN2679

Also, just because I like to do things very spur of the moment, I grabbed some of my leftover squares from Little Morsels and sewed them together. I’m thinking it’ll be a place mat for my cats’ food bowls. They are messy eaters.

DSCN2681

No rhyme or reason to the pattern. And, yes, it’s a little off in places. I really don’t know how that keeps happening, and it’s starting to frustrate me!!!

Maggie made a beautiful painting the other day. Really nice. A pretty fuchsia colored flower on a blue background. Marcy, the helpful child she is, thought it needed a bit of red…

DSCN2685
I call it, “Murder of a Painting.”

It was a collaborative effort.

We discovered Marcy “improving” the painting after she had already put her mark on (all of) it. Maggie’s really the one who caught her, and as Maggie was flipping out, Marcy ran out to me, hands and arms completely covered in red, up to her elbows.

“I paint! I paint!”

Of course you do, honey. We are all creative in this house.

Oh, and I almost forgot, I won an Advanced Reader Copy of Glennon Doyle Melton‘s latest book, Love Warrior, which is coming out in a few months. I never win anything! I was so happy I finally did!

I’m reading the book now. I’ll give a full review when I’m done with it.

True story, the book arrived as brand-spanking-new books do–in pristine condition. It spent two hours in my house before it got sullied by the two year old. She left one of those tube ice pops on the end table and it melted right next to my book. Such is life! It’s still readable, just, “improved.” Like Maggie’s painting. And, of course, it’s red. Marcy’s messes always involve red.

IMG_1511
Before…(the picture I posted to Facebook to brag  share my good luck.)
DSCN2687
After….(sad trombone: whomp whomp waaaaaaaah)

That’s all I have for today. I hope you all have a wonderful weekend filled with happy news and some relaxation!

 

 

2 thoughts on “New Projects and Progress (and Caught Red-handed)

Leave a Reply

