Greek-Style Baked Tilapia

A favorite meal in my household is Greek-style Baked Tilapia. It’s a good meal for when you want something light and flavorful, and is especially nice when the weather is getting warmer and you need a break from the heavy foods we tend to eat during the winter.

DSCN2335

I started making this particular dish last summer when my friend, Cathy, was giving me bags and bags of sweet cherry tomatoes from her garden. (She, unlike me, is good at growing things!) I found a recipe on the Food Network website for roasted tomatoes and white fish, and, since I had a few banana peppers from my own modest vegetable garden (banana peppers were the only thing that seemed to grow, and, even then, my “harvest” was embarrassingly tiny), I decided to slice and toss them in with the tomatoes and garlic. Each time I made this dish, the recipe evolved.

I now make my Greek-style Baked Tilapia with two pints of cherry tomatoes, a head of garlic, a quarter cup of pepperoncini peppers (it’s about three peppers), and a quarter cup of kalamata olives.

I serve this over steamed white rice, but it would also work nicely along side some roasted potatoes.

DSCN2337

Greek-style Baked Tilapia

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Greek-style Baked Tilapia

Ingredients:

  • 2 pints cherry tomatoes
  • 1 head of garlic, peeled
  • 1/4 cup pepperoncini peppers
  • 1/4 cup kalamata olives,  pitted
  • 1/2 tablespoon oregano, dried
  • 1/2 tablespoon basil, dried
  • 1-2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 1/2 pounds tilapia (or, other white fish)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
In a 9 by 13-inch baking pan, combine tomatoes, pepperoncini peppers, kalamata olives, oil, garlic, salt, pepper, oregano and basil. Mix to coat. Roast for 15 minutes. Remove from oven, gently stir. Nestle fish in pan with tomatoes, place back in oven and continue roasting 7 to 15 minutes more or until fish is no longer translucent and tomatoes are just beginning to burst. Remove from oven. Divide fish among serving plates, atop steamed rice, if using. Spoon tomato, peppers and olives over fish in equal portions.

Adapted from: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/oven-roasted-cherry-tomatoes-with-basil-and-whitefish-recipe.html

Greek-style Baked Tilapia

 

Leave a Reply

