And, that is Why they are Goals, Not Resolutions

So, I missed last week. I thought about posting. I really did. I just got a little overwhelmed by all the celebrities dying. Around my birthday (it was last week). As I march slowly to middle age, and, ultimately, death.  (See. Total downer. I did you all a favor by skipping last week.)

I did finish one project and started another. I did finish one book and started another. I did pick up my pens and markers and doodle in my art journal. I won’t share everything I drew (some of it is a little dark, like my mood last week) but here’s something kinda whimsical (and maybe a little creepy?) I started yesterday.  I’m reading Carrie Brownstein’s Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl and watching a lot of Portlandia and listening to Sleater-Kinney’s last album, No Cities to Love, so I felt compelled to not just “put a bird on it,” but make the entire drawing birds. I plan on coloring it. Basically, I made myself one of those fancy adult coloring pages. I keep looking at those at the [insert ANY store because they are EVERYWHERE], but decide I should draw my own. Also, Maggie has a few fancy coloring books, so I could always just steal a page from her if I didn’t feel like drawing.

2015.01.07_1657

Speaking of Maggie, I finished her hat. Her second hat, because the first was too small. It was a quick crochet beanie in the same style as her scarf.

2015.01.07_1651

I also started a pair of socks with some sock yarn I impulse bought a LONG time ago. So, that’s on track with my goals, right?

2015.01.07_1654

Some how I thought it would go a lot faster, being such a small project, but that is some skinny yarn and it is taking FOREVER. I might just be a little impatient, though.

Lastly, I took all my finished hex-a-grannies and laid them out to see just how much of a blanket I have…then realized I barely have a lap warmer. So, I estimated how many grannies I need for a decent blanket and now I’m sad. It’s a lot. I’ll continue to chip away at it, though, and, maybe, I’ll have a new blanket by this time next year.

2015.01.07_1647
All that work and this is all I have???

I had book club last week, and I do want to talk about the book and our opinions, but I’ll do that later, in a separate post.

So, things I’ve read this month, so far:

The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate

Fates and Furies by Laura Groff

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson (THIS BOOK WAS AWESOME)

Currently reading:

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley (This is my “classic” pick, and it is boring me to death. Which is why I’m taking so long to read it.)

Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl by Carrie Brownstein

 

One thought on “And, that is Why they are Goals, Not Resolutions

Leave a Reply

