Four by Four WIP

Four by Four, in progress

After dipping my toes back into the water with those small barrette projects, I’ve decided to dive right back in.  This week I started two fairly time-consuming projects. The first, something I’ve never attempted–I full sized (okay, baby sized) quilt.  This is the largest quilting job I’ve taken on, and my first that involves actual measuring and following a pattern. (In the past, I’ve made many smaller, freestyle, artsy-fartsy quilts.) So far, it’s working out splendidly! Although, I can safely say measuring and cutting fabric is insanely mind-numbing–which can be relaxing, I guess!

I’m working on the Four by Four quilt in the Fall 2013 issue of Quilts and More. I finished the four large blocks that are the main focus of the quilt. Now I just need to add the sashes in between the blocks, then I’m ready to add the batting, backing, and start quilting.

In addition to the sewing, I picked the knitting needles back up. Visited my local yarn shop last week and bought some beautiful yarn for baby things. My first project is the Linnie Sweater.  I was going to knit this baby blanket, but realized after I left the yarn store, I miscalculated and didn’t buy enough yarn. (Interesting stuff, huh?) Oh well! I can always use what I have for other projects.

My Loot!

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

