If you like Pina Coladas…

…and getting lost in the rain…

Okay, so sitting and reading all day isn’t working out like I planned.  Instead, I spent two hours holding my bladder as the DishTV tech moved my satellite dish (he was in and out of the house and not knocking…plus Sean and Maggie were roaming ’round the house, and Radar was yapping every time the guy came within three feet of the door…who could pee in that chaos?), then I spent some time making date and nut bars.  Then I decided to concoct my own.  Then it was time for Aaron’s bus to arrive.  Then the internet started messing up. You know.  Life stuff…

I did manage to get some reading done, and fully intend to pick the book back up once I’m done on the computer. In the meantime, here’s a quick recipe for Pina Colada imitation Larabars.  Enjoy!

Sadly, no alcohol was used in the making of this dessert...

Pina Colada Bars

1 c pitted dates

1 c dried unsweetened pineapple

1 c cashews

1 c dried shredded unsweetened coconut

Pinch of salt

Juice of half a lime

1. Toss all ingredients into a food processor and mix until crumbly and knead-able. (Mine are a little chunky–I’m sure you could blend it into oblivion.)

2. Line a 9×9 pan with cling wrap or parchment.  Press mixture into pan, making sure it’s evenly distributed and compact.

3. Chill for a few hours before turning out and cutting into bars.  (If your impatient, like me, pop it in the freezer and enjoy your treat faster!)

Mmmm…tropical…

Leave a Reply

