Like a Carl Jr. is the Same as a Hardees?

avatarA long, long ago (sometime in the year 2006), I started my Etsy store.

Wait, wait–it goes back further than that.  Some time around 2004 I started my first blog.  At the time, I just discovered knitting, and at the same time, blogs about knitting.  As I stumbled through and then frogged row after row of my beginner projects, I was reading about better knitters (with better yarn, may I add), and the elaborate, beautiful sweaters and socks they were working on.  I had to be part of that blogging world….

Now, as “creative” as my quilts may seem–“odd” would probably be a better word–when it comes to naming things, I’m not very original.   When naming that first blog, I racked my brain, trying to think of something cool that would sum up my blog–and life–in just a few words.  The name “Smooshy Knit” came about from a very annoying thing my cat would do.  I would be knitting, happy and unaware, when suddenly the yarn woven between my fingers would get soggy and wet.  I would look down, wondering where this wetness was coming from only to find my cat gnawing on the skein.

It was all I could come up with, and I hated it almost immediately.

In 2006 I discovered this great place online where people could buy and sell handmade crafts.  Again, I wanted to be part of it.  Again, I was at a loss for a name.  This time I just got lazy.  I dropped the “Knit” and named my store “Smooshy.”

I don’t like the name “Smooshy.”  I don’t think I ever did.  Unfortunately, you can’t change your user name on Etsy.  You choose it, it’s yours for life.

If I could re-name my store, it would be “Fisheyes and Magpies.”  I actually have a store on etsy called that, but abandoned it after realizing just how much work goes into collect all those shop hearts.  (And transfering items?  For get about it. )

fandm140x140

I still like the name, though, which is why this blog, as well as my new Artfire store have the name.  It’s significant to me in a real way, unlike the cat spit inspired one.  My nickname as a kids was “Fisheyes.”  The pseudonym was first given to my mother when she was pregnant with me because her eyes got bulge-y during the pregnancy.  (It was a term of endearment, I’m sure.)  After I was born, though, my parents started calling me Fisheyes because of my bright blue eyes.  (Which are green now, but that is beside the point.)

“Magpies” comes from my daughter.   Her name is Maggie, and Magpie is one of her many, many nicknames.  (She has so many, I’m not sure she knows her real name!)

When I came up with the name “Fisheyes and Magpies,” my husband pointed out I left my boys out of the title.  I disagree.  Being an adult–and having not been called Fisheyes in decades–I think the only Fisheyes around here are the boys.  I know it’s not the same, but the name reminds me of “Frog, snails and puppy dog tails.”

So, what does this have to do with Carl Jr or Hardees?  Not much.  Names.  Carl Jr and Hardees are the same franchise, but they have different names, right?  Could I do that?

Leave a Reply

